Saturday, December 8, 2012

Bangladesh wins 2nd ODI series

Bangladeshies have won 5-match series with 3-2 victory against West Indies. They won by 2 wickets today in the deciding match. This is their 2nd ODI series victory in cricket. They first got first series victory in 2010 against New Zealand

Bangladesh lost eight wickets as they were chasing 218-run target set by West Indies Indies in the fifth and deciding one-day international at their home ground Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on Saturday.

The vice-captain smashed a solid 45 off 42, featuring seven boundaries, and hauled two wickets of the Caribbeans removing Darren Bravo (51) and Andre Russell for a duck.

After restricting West Indies to a modest 217, Bangladesh appeared in trouble with losing three wickets -- Tamim Iqbal (4), Anamul Haque (0) and Jahurul Islam (10) -- only for 30 runs.

Later, skipper Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah made a 91-run partnership in the fifth wicket.

But Narine broke the strong partnership by sending back Mahmudullah in the 21st over of the innings.

Narine also sent Mushfiqur back to the pavilion scoring 47 from 59 balls with seven boundaries.

Later, Nasir Hossain and Mominul Haque made a 43-run partnership before Narine dismissed Mominul at 25.

Nasir Hossain (39) and Elias Sunny (1) were unbeaten at the last moment and took the team to its target in 43.5 overs.

West Indies bowlers Kemar Roach grabbed five wickets while Sunil Narine picked up three.

Earlier, Kieron Pollard knocked a brilliant 85 off 74 to guide West Indies to post 217 runs in 48 overs.

Pollard scored 85, featuring five boundaries and eight sixes, before getting back to the pavilion.

Batting first, the tourists lost wickets at regular intervals and at one stage they lost three top orders for only 17 runs.

Later, Pollard and Darren Bravo made a 172-run partnership.

Mominul Haque broke the 172-run fifth wicket partnership by sending back Kieron Pollard in 32nd over.

Darren Bravo scored 51 from 107 balls that featured three boundaries and one six.

Bangladeshi bowlers Shafiul Islam grabbed three wickets while Mominul and Mahmudullah captured two wickets and Sohag Gazi took one wicket.

Marlon Samuels and Veerasammy Permaul were run out.

With the series level at 2-2, the Tigers brought in batsman Jahurul Islam and paceman Shafiul Islam for Naeem Islam and Mashrafe Mortaza from today's match.

The West Indies brought back Andre Russell for Dwayne Smith.

Earlier, Bangladesh skipper Mushfiqur Rahim won the toss and invited West Indies to bat.

Bangladesh beat tourists by seven wickets in the opening match in Khulna on November 30 and by 160 runs in the second match on December 2 on the same venue.

West Indies beat Bangladesh by four wickets in the third ODI on December 5 and by 75 runs in the fourth match on December 7.

West Indies have clinched the two-match Test series by 2-0 against Bangladesh.

The West Indies cricket team arrived on a month-long tour in Dhaka on November 5 to play a full- fledged series against host Bangladesh.

ICC World T20 winners will also play a lone T20 in Dhaka on December 10.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Jahurul Islam, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Sohag Gazi, Elias Sunny and Abdur Razzak

West Indies: Darren Sammy, Kieron Pollard, Darren Bravo, Chris Gayle, Devon Thomas, Sunil Narine, Kemar Roach, Andre Russell, Veerasammy Permaul, Marlon Samuels and Kieran Powell

No comments:

Post a Comment