Thursday, February 17, 2011

Dhaka is ready to open 10th CWC today

Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka, Bangladesh 
Bangladesh is now ready to open the 10th ICC Cricket World Cup. The opening ceremony will be held at the Bangabandhu National Stadium in Dhaka, the capital city of the country today (17 February 2011, Thursday) afternoon.

Roads and important establishments of the country have been illuminated with different colors of lights and felicitating flags have also been hoisted to embrace the players and participants of the opening ceremony.

Bangladesh is going to organise first time this kind of International Event being co-hosted by India and Sri Lanka. 

Meanwhile, all kinds of securities have been beefed up over the city to ensure enjoyable opening ceremony where three countries will present their own culture and heritage through their separate events and performances.    

The 2011 ICC Cricket World Cup will be the 10th Cricket World Cup and will be hosted by three South Asian Test cricket playing countries: India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. 

It will be Bangladesh's first time co-hosting a Cricket World Cup. The World Cup will use cricket's One Day International format, with fourteen national cricket teams scheduled to compete. 

The World Cup will take place between February and early April 2011, with the first match to be played on 19 February 2011 with co-hosts India and Bangladesh facing off at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka of Bangladesh.

The opening ceremony will be held tomorrow 17 February 2011, two days before the start of the tournament, with the final on 2 April 2011 at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

The World Cup was also supposed to be co-hosted by Pakistan, but in the wake of the 2009 attack on the Sri Lanka national cricket team in Lahore, the International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to strip Pakistan of its hosting rights.

The headquarters of the organising committee were originally situated in Lahore, but have now been shifted to Mumbai. Pakistan was supposed to hold 14 matches, including one semi-final. Eight of Pakistan's matches have been awarded to India, four to Sri Lanka and two to Bangladesh.

No comments:

Post a Comment